the Mac daddy

Macaroni and cheese has always been a strong staple in my diet. Whether I’m trying to slim down or not, I find a way to include mac into my life like it is a life or death situation.  I’ve committed to a semester-long blog about cheese, so I figured I should do some researching on cheese-friendly recipes. Of course, I’ll discuss cheesy grits & their cousin, grilled cheese– a sandwich  I considered to be “girl” cheese or “boy” cheese (depending on the gender of the eater) until my sophomore year of high school, but first, I will uncover my top five mac & cheese recipes.

Bon Appetit's Mac Guide

Bon Appetit’s Mac Guide

#5 Deep Fried Mac:

Paula Deen coined the term “butter makes it better” but, in all honesty, I’m in a firm believer in deep frying to make ‘it’ better. Trends have sent donuts, sushi rolls, oreos and pickles into the deep dark grease sauna. Now, everyones deep frying little clusters of mac and cheese. [HC]

P.S. if you’re not in a rush to buy your own deep fryer, no worries. Serious Eats tells us how to get that deep fried taste without fancy instruments.

#4 Mac in the morning:

Breakfast Mac & Cheese [DoD]

In honor of my third favorite holiday National Cheese Lover’s Day (January 20th), food-blog master Shannon, of Dinner or Desert, created a dreamy breakfast dish with onions, sausage and two types of cheese. Thank you, Shannon. Really, thank you.

#3 Mustard + Mac:

Penne and Cauliflower with Mustard Breadcrumbs [BA]

Mixing penne pasta with cauliflower, topped with flavor-packed breadcrumbs makes for an interesting texture combination to cure the hungriest of stomachs. If you’re looking for a healthier meal, just replace the heavy whipping cream with fat free half-and-half!

#2 Mac meets Chicken:

Macaronic Cheese with Buffalo Chicken [BA]

This recipe calls for one stick of butter. It is not advised for those with diabetes or congestive heart failure. Or vegetarians.

#1 The Classic

All veggies, hot sauce and and breadcrumbs aside, the basic elbow macaroni and cheese tops the list. Its simple, it’s cheesy, it’s delicious.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment